Valentine’s Day Ideas (That Won’t Break The Bank!)

valentines

Valentine’s Day.

When I hear (or see) the words: VALENTINE’S DAY, I often associate it with many people going overboard and showering their significant others with gifts. It has become something that is too commercialized and many seem to be forgetting the idea behind it.

Valentine’s Day shouldn’t be about showering someone with gifts, chocolate, flowers, etc. It should be about spending time with someone you care for. That’s why I’ve come up with some fun, yet inexpensive, things that you can do with your sweetie on Valentine’s Day or any other day of the year.

Visit a Local Coffee Shop:

Both my boyfriend and I love to support local ventures. We often spend time looking to find locally owned coffee shops whenever we are on vacation. This would be the perfect Valentine’s Day outing with a significant other who enjoys the wonderful aroma (and taste) of coffee. My other half would definitely appreciate it.

One of our favorite local places is The Jumping Bean.

jumpingbean.jpg

(Click on the imagine for more information about this AWESOME place!)

They make a mean sandwich and I have recently discovered their cafe mocha! I’m hooked. They also have bags of coffee that you can purchase to take home with you. This is something to make this amazing treat last longer. I may be guilty of having a few bags hidden in my cupboards at the moment 😉

 


Cook a Favorite Meal

I’m sure we’ve all heard that the way to a mans heart is through is stomach. I often joke that this is one of the ways I ‘captured’ my bf. So why not treat your other half to a wonderful, home cooked meal on this special day. We all need to buy groceries anyways, so a special treat wouldn’t hurt.

Or maybe you want to be adventurous and try a new dish. I am famous for just going into google and finding random things to try… like Pesto Baked Cod.

pestocod

(Click on the picture to learn how to make this. It was amazing!)


Bake a Sweet Treat for Your Sweetheart!

This is one of the things I do each year. I enjoy baking and always have ingredients laying around to make some sweet treat. If you feel you don’t have much time, or you think that your baking skills are not up to par (or non-existent), you could always buy a cake mix for under $2 and make a heart-shaped cake.

If this is something you’re interested in, click here to see how it could be achieved.

If a cake isn’t for you, then how about Banana Bread?
TTTBananaBread1(Click on the picture above for more details!)

Or, if you’re running low on time, you can purchase a tasty treat from your local supermarket (or bakery). Maybe something similar to these (which I purchased for under $2 tonight!)

vdaycookie.jpg



Date Night At Home:

Here in Newfoundland where I live, we have had some very cold weather lately (as I type this I am listening to the freezing rain hit my window). Weather like this just makes me want to stay home and I am sure many of you feel the same way. If that is what you decide, you can simply turn Valentine’s Day into a movie night! Most of us have access to Netflix, or can rent a new release for less than $6. Pop some popcorn, add a little bit of chocolate to the mix, and your favorite drink. You can have a wonderful night it for less than $10.



Be Creative!

This year I decided that I wanted to do something a little different for my bf. I decided to create something he could add his collection of coaster on. He has coasters of different beer brands from many places all over the world.  I came up with this:

I bought a piece of project board from Home Depot. I paid about $7 for this one but you can get cheaper ones to suit your needs. I bought some hooks and used some twine I had laying around the house.

As an extra special treat, I got some Valentine’s a local Dollar Store and wrote different date night ideas on them. These date night ideas can be something as simple as cooking a favorite meal, going out for coffee, watching a movie of their choice, etc. It doesn’t need to be something extravagant. The idea is to come up with ideas of what you can do together.

vdayidea.jpg

(Click here to learn how to make the Adventure Awaits Board!)


The main thing to remember is that it is not the amount of money you spend. You don’t need to plan some extravagant date to show someone how much you care. It is the little things that mean the most. I’m not the biggest fan of Valentine’s Day (I’ll be the first to admit). I’d much rather the little things. I think that you should show your special someone that you care every day, not just one day a year.

With that, I hope I’ve given you some ideas on how to spend your Valentine’s Day. Hope this Valentine’s Day (and every day) is amazing!

Side Note:
If you’d like to learn more about frugal and fun ideas for any occasion, please let me know. I’m all about having fun, on a budget of course. One of my goals for myself this year is to try to manage my spending more. I’ve discovered Personal Capital and have been looking into a bit myself.

Leave a Reply

