The Christmas Angel Project

Hey all!

So one of the goals I have set for myself was to have more ‘me’ time. A part of this was to read more. So, I decided to sign up for the #50BookPledge as a way to keep myself committed. I have tried this in the past and failed miserably. However, I feel like this could be my year. It is never too late to start this challenge. For more information head on over to 50BookPledge.ca.

Around the same time I was introduced to Nuts About Books (and Movies). This site gives bloggers the opportunity to receive Christian books for free to review. I was intrigued so I decided to sign up.

Each month you are given the option to choose from a small list of books you’d like to receive and review; and whether you’d rather have an ebook or hard copy. I use my time reading to get away from technology, so I opted for a hard copy.

One of the things I enjoy about this program is that they give you a brief synopsis about each novel. This allow you to only choose those that you are going to read and enjoy.

The novel I chose for the month of December was The Christmas Angel Project by Melody Carlson.

ChristmasAngel.jpg

Abby Wentworth is the glue that holds her book club together. So when she unexpectedly passes away on the cusp of the Christmas season, the rest of the women in the group are stunned, saddened, and sure that, without her, the group can’t continue.

They gather “one last time” to open gifts Abby left behind, little knowing how it will change each of their lives–forever. – The Christmas Angel Project by Melody Carlson.

This book tells the story of a group of friends who receive a delicate angel ornament; each crafted to resemble its owner. Want to know the significance of these angels? You’ll have to read the book to find out.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book. After reading the synopsis  I couldn’t wait to read it. I wanted to know more after reading each chapter and couldn’t put it down. I felt like I was right there with the characters, living their lives as they did. I shared their feelings; when they were happy and excited, so was I. I was intrigued to see how the group would continue and how their lives would actually change by one small act of kindness.  It definitely made me think about the life around me and how people should take the time to do good in their communities. I feel that following their example would make me a better person.

One of the main messages I took away from this novel was to never take life for granted and to always take the time to help others. I find that there is nothing more fulfilling then the selfless act of helping others or volunteering your time for a worthwhile cause. It is funny how one small act of kindness, even from a character in a novel, can make you see the world in a whole new light.

I would definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for some light reading. It won’t be long before you’re whisked away with the characters and wondering what is going to happen next!

**I received this book for free from Nuts About Books. All opinions are my own. **

Leave a Reply

