Adventures in the Kitchen!

Hey all!

First of all, let’s do a little housekeeping shall we?

I’ve spent the past few weeks diligently working towards the goals I have in place for myself. I have been more active and the energy levels this past week have been great. I feel better overall. And I am doing this for just that purpose… to feel better. Any weight loss is just a bonus.

Secondly, I have been writing more in my journal. I feel that just getting thoughts and feelings down have lifted so much off of my shoulders. It’s great.

And I’ve decided on a schedule for the blog, which is where this post fits in. I’ve decided to publish a post every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday… three days a week! I have some ideas in mind for posts that I just have to get written. It should be golden!

So for today’s post, I’ve decided to bring you along as I try out a recipe I found online when I was searching for ways to cook the abundance of fish we have in our freezer. This brings us the first installment of .. ADVENTURES IN THE KITCHEN!

When searching for a recipe I began to think about some of the things I had in the house. I didn’t want to have to go out and buy all the ingredients for something when I had a ton of products here. Then I remembered the bottle of Pesto I had in my cupboard waiting to be used. That’s when I discovered:

pestocod

Roasted Cod with Basil Pesto & Garlic Breadcrumbs from the Fine Cooking website. You can click the title of the website to check out the recipe I used. The recipe is super simple to follow. However, I did change a few things to suit our needs.

First, I washed, dried and cut the fish into smaller pieces. I ended up putting my fish in the oven to cook for 10 minutes before adding the toppings. The originally recipe did not call for this but our fish was still a little frozen.

pestofish6

While this was cooking I got all the ingredients together and made the breadcrumb topping. I didn’t have any cloves of garlic so I used some minced garlic that we had on hand.

 

 

Once the time was up I had to change pans because there was too much water on the pan I was using. From that I added the pesto, the thinly sliced tomatoes, and the breadcrumbs!. Here’s the finally outcome:

It was tasty and definitely something I’d try again. I paired it with taters tonight, sent some out for my nephew to try, and have enough left for supper tomorrow. I think tomorrow I am going to pair it with a fresh basil pasta.

Well that’s all for today’s adventures in the kitchen. Is this something you’d like to see more of? Let me know in the comments!!!

 

Leave a Reply

