Blogtober Day 27: Elecrow HDMI Monitor for Raspberry Pi

Hey All!

Today I’m bringing you a review of the Elecrow HDMI Monitor for Raspberry Pi. I was excited to be able to purchase this at a discount for the Boyfriend. He loves getting new products to test out, especially those that interest him.

To be honest I wasn’t sure what to expect when I ordered this display monitor. I was intrigued because the monitor could be used with a Raspberry Pi. I knew that this was something that my Boyfriend often used and figured that this monitor could be paired with his Raspberry Pi to make things easier.


It came well packaged with foam to ensure the screen would not break during transit. I was definitely impressed with the care took for shipping.

 

But would it work? Here’s what the Boyfriend had to say:
The touchscreen ran as an LCD monitor for Raspberry Pi out-of-the-box. Initial install was easy; however, the screen did not run at full resolution and touch functionality did not work. I did some Google-fu to find some instructions, configuration files and driver software. Even with the instructions as a guide I had to go through a few cycles of breaking the pi configuration and restoring a known working system. Once I arrived at the right setup the screen looked good at full resolution and the touch capability worked very well. I would have preferred that resources were a bit easier to find, or even that the required software was packaged or linked via documentation.

Screen6.jpg
This product would be great for any technical types, keeping in mind that some work may need to be done to get it to work to your liking. It would be good to use as a part of a development kit.
It should also be noted that this screen has been used numerous times over the past month and there have been no issues since the initial set up.
**I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. These opinions are my own and are not influenced by any other means. **

Leave a Reply

