Blogtober Day 21 – Mary Lambert’s Heart On My Sleeve Album Review

A while ago, while driving across the island, I came across a song called “Secrets”. I’ll be the first to admit that I am a sucker for great lyrics and often look for that in songs (along with a catchy tune). “Secrets” had both. I quickly made note of the artist, Mary Lambert, in order to look for more by the artist when I got home.

It seems as if since that time the song as become more popular and getting more and more airplay on SiriusXm. I’m guilty to singing along each time I hear it. The lyrics speak volumes to me. But it wasn’t until I saw a blog post reviewing the Heart of my Sleeve album that I looked more into it. cd cover

I’m not one who listens to much of the mainstream music these days. However, I was aware of the song “Same Love” by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis. Nonetheless, it wasn’t until I read Mary Lambert’s bio that I learned she that she had a part in the song.

Lambert claims that this is what started it all, or gave her “quasi-stardom”, which soon found her signed to Capitol Records, releasing EPs, and making history. This gave her the platform to decide on what she wanted to share with the world. This lead to her creating the following list of goals: (1) to have fun; (2) to create something catchy; (3) to create something that positively impacts the world; (4) to stay true to yourself; (5) to make money to do things such as buy her mom a house, start a charity that offers free mental health treatment and tip brunch waitresses (a job she previously had herself) hundred dollar bills.

1413940602

Reading these goals and seeing what she wishes to accomplish allows me to have so much respect for Lambert as both a person and an artist. She wanted to write songs that had pround emotional dept and to hear them play on the radio. She definitely succeeded with this.

While working on this album, Lambert chose to write about the experiences she had. When speaking about Heart on My Sleeve, Lambert has said that “this album is inspired by the depth of all of that love, and the journey that it takes to get there.” She shares these experiences through songs such as “Be With Me”, written around the time she met her girlfriend. I was surprised to hear another rendition of “Jessie’s Girl”, a classic from Rick Springfield that almost everyone has heard at one point in their life. It was definitely brought to the world in a new light.

Lambert uses ideas that many people can relate to. One song, “So Far Away” is said to explore the struggle of being in a long distance relationship. I did this myself for three years while I was away working. I’ll be doing this again for another few months soon as I will be going home to take care of my mom while she’s on the mend. This was one of my favorite songs when taking a first listen to the album, now I know why.

“Secrets” is another song that the majority can relate to. It is said that this song spells out Lambert’s mission on the album, which is to encourgage vulnerability. With lyrics like: “They tell us from the time we’re young / To hide the things we don’t like about ourselves / Inside ourselves / I’m not the only one / Who spends so long attempting to be someone else / Well I’m over it / I don’t care if the world knows what my secrets are.” To me these lyrics are about empowerment. It is encouraging everyone to be who them are and not to change to fit what society deems as normal. If we wanted everyone to be a carbon copy of each other, then that’s the way the world would have been programmed from the beginning. However, we live in a world where everyone is unique and should not have to hide their true selves. I can see me using these lyrics in future classes to aid in teaching.

Check out the video for “Secrets”:

I’m excited to hear more from Mary Lambert and to listen to these songs again. I’ve already found a few favorites. The album, which was released on Tuesday, October 14th, should now be available for download at the following links:

* iTunes:    http://bit.ly/MaryHeart
* Amazon:  http://bit.ly/MaryLHeart

If you’d like to learn more about Mary Lambert, check her out on the following social media sites:

* Official Mary Lambert Website – www.marylambertsings.com
* Twitter – @marylambertsing
* YouTube –  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cqqqV50zaAc
* Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/marylambertsings

Disclosure Statement: I participated in the Mary Lambert Heart On My Sleeve album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided a free album to review but all opinions are my own.   #HeartOnMySleeve #O2O

Leave a Reply

